Business and Finance
Dexter Odom, CPA, Vice President for Business and Finance
309 C. V. Troup Administration Building
Fort Valley State University receives a portion of its operating funds from state appropriations through the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. This arrangement enables the University to offer high quality educational programs to its students at a reasonable cost.
Registration for classes is considered complete only after students have paid their tuition and all mandatory fees that are required. Students are permitted to attend classes once their financial obligations have been met. Fort Valley State University reserves the right to withhold all records (diplomas, transcripts, etc.) and/or revoke enrollment of students who fail to meet financial obligations to the University. Fees and charges may be paid by cash (Do Not Mail Cash), cashier’s check, certified check, money order, travelers check, or major credit card. Remittance should be made payable to Fort Valley State University and addressed to Fort Valley State University, Attn: University Cashier, 1005 State University Drive, Fort Valley, GA 31030. Credit card payments and check payments may also be made via the Student Account Suite.
Students with an academic schedule of 12 or more semester hours are classified as full-time enrolled. Part-time students carry an academic load of 11 or fewer semester hours. Undergraduate tuition and fees are based on different fee structures from graduate tuition and fees. More detailed information regarding graduate tuition and fees may be found in the Graduate Catalog.
Tuition and Fees
Fort Valley State University, as a unit of the University System of Georgia, is a state-supported institution. As such, tuition and fee rates are set by the University System of Georgia. The University reserves the right to change its fees/charges at the beginning of any semester. It is the students’ responsibility to know the fees in effect for the semester during which he/she is enrolled. For up-to-date fee information, including e-tuition for fully online classes, visit the Student Financial Services website or contact the Student Accounts Office. Board of Regents policy states that “all tuition and fees are due and payable upon registration.” Personal deferment of tuition and fees is not allowed.
- Books - The estimated cost for books is $500 per semester.
- Late Payment Fee -This fee is charged when students pay after the published deadline.
- Auditing Fee - Any regular student may elect an audit grading status enrollment. The fee assessment is the same as for regular enrollment status.
- Housing Application Fee - Payment of a $200.00 fee is required by July 19th for admitted students applying for housing on the campus facility.
- Transcripts Fees - Students who wish to obtain copies of their academic records must go to Transcripts on Demand.
Each additional transcript is $3.00; a transcript request form is available at: http://www.fac.fvsu.edu/aa/admissions/index.htm. Anyone wishing to obtain an official copy of his/her transcript on the same day will be charged a “same day service” fee of $10.00. This charge is in addition to the $3.00 transcript fee.
- Graduation Fee - Undergraduate students are assessed a graduation fee of $50.00 with $10.00 of this amount being used for Senior Week activities. Graduation fees for graduate students are $60.00. In the event that the applicant does not meet all degree requirements for the commencement for which the graduation fee was originally paid, the student must reapply for graduation.
- Late graduation application penalty. Students who do not complete their applications for graduation by the published deadline will be assessed a penalty of $35.00 the first day and an additional $10.00 per day thereafter, not to exceed $65.00.
- Music Fee - Private instrumental and voice lessons are available at a charge of $30.00 per clock hour.
- Meals - Students are responsible for their meals prior to their official enrollment and payment of room and board.
- Uniforms for Physical Education - First time students must pay $60 for uniforms for Physical Education.
- Vehicle Registration - An annual fee is required for all motor vehicles operated or parked on the campus: $100.00 for faculty, staff, and administrators; $150.00 for reserved parking spaces and $25.00 per semester for students.
- PLA Portfolio Fee - In order to submit PLA portfolios, students must pay a fee ($250 for a three credit hour class) and must have completed the PLAC 2000 class in portfolio development.
- Post Office Box Rental - A fee of $22.00 is charged to rent a campus post office box per semester.
- Returned Check Penalties - The maker/student will be assessed $30.00 or five percent (5%), whichever is greater, for handling insufficient funds (returned) check.
Policies of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia provide for tuition and mandatory fee refunds when formal withdrawal from the Institution is approved within a designated period following registration.
The refund percentage that a student may receive is a calculation of the time remaining in the semester up through 60% of the semester. Once 60% of the semester has expired, there is no refund for a withdrawal from the Institution. The refund calculation is based on days enrolled in the semester divided by the number of calendar days in the semester including weekends and holidays, but excluding breaks of five (5) or more consecutive days.
A refund of all semester tuition and other mandatory fees is made in the event of death of a student any time during an academic semester.
A student who officially withdraws from all classes after the first official day of classes must complete the University’s formal withdrawal process to obtain a refund. Any student who wishes to withdraw from the institution must secure a withdrawal form from the Office of the Registrar and obtain signatures from each office noted on the form, including the Business Office and the Office of Financial Aid. No refund will be made to students who drop a course.
Refund proceeds from Federal loans will be returned to the applicable lending institution per Federal regulations.
Georgia In-State Residential Status
In keeping with its responsibility to the citizens of Georgia to ensure that out-of-state students pay a fair and reasonable share of the cost of their education, the Board of Regents has adopted policies governing the classification of students as in-state and out-of-state for tuition purposes. The Board of Regents tuition classification policies reflect the requirements for in-state classification as required by O.C.G.A. 20-3-66 passed by the Georgia Legislature in July 2008.
A Georgia Resident is one who has legally demonstrated domicile in Georgia continuously for a period of 12 months prior to the date of registration or the first day of classes. The 12-month durational requirement is specified in O.C.G.A. 20-3-66 as the period of domicile required for qualification as an in-state student in Georgia. The durational requirement of 12 months is considered by most state courts to be a reasonable period of time during which a new resident can demonstrate their intent to establish domicile in the state before attending a public institution in the state at the in-state tuition rate. Courts faced with challenges to tuition classification procedures have consistently recognized the right of public institutions of higher education to charge higher rates to out-of-state students and to establish reasonable criteria for determining the establishment of in-state status for fee-paying purposes.
A student’s domicile is their present, permanent home where they intend to stay indefinitely and to which they return after periods of temporary absence. To acquire domicile, an individual must demonstrate intent to remain permanently or indefinitely. Temporary residence does not constitute the establishment of one’s domicile. Domicile, once established, is not affected by mere transient or temporary physical presence in another state, provided steps have not been taken to establish domicile in that state. A student may not have more than one domicile even though he/she may maintain more than one residence. Students who move to the state of Georgia for the purpose of pursuing their education cannot be classified as in-state unless they unequivocally prove that they have subsequently decided to make Georgia their legal domicile. A student’s state of domicile depends upon whether they are an independent or dependent student.
A dependent student is an individual under the age of 24 who receives financial support from a parent or United States court appointed legal guardian. Students under the age of 24 are presumed to be dependent unless they provide documentation showing they are independent. Dependent students are evaluated based on the status and actions of their parent or U.S. court appointed legal guardian. Dependent students must submit documentation showing the domicile of their parent or U.S. court appointed legal guardian.
An independent student is an individual who is not claimed as a dependent on the federal or state income tax returns of a parent or a United States court appointed legal guardian and whose parent or guardian has ceased to provide support and rights to that individual’s care, custody and earnings. Independent students are evaluated based on their own status and actions.
Non-citizens initially shall not be classified as “in-state” for tuition purposes unless there is evidence to warrant consideration of in-state classification. Lawful permanent residents, refugees, asylees, or other eligible non-citizens as defined by federal Title IV regulations may be extended the same consideration as citizens of the United States in determining whether they qualify for in-state classification. International students who reside in the United States under nonimmigrant status conditioned at least in part upon intent not to abandon a foreign domicile are not eligible for in-state classification.
Classification of Undocumented and Out-of-Status Students
Students who are unable to furnish documentation proving valid immigration status in the United States will be assessed the out-of-state tuition rate and cannot be considered for in-state classification or an out-of-state tuition waiver. Dependent students of undocumented or out of status parent(s) or U.S. guardians cannot qualify for in-state classification or an out-of-state tuition waiver, regardless of the student’s immigration status.
Responsibility to Register under Correct Classification
The responsibility of registering for classes under the proper tuition classification is that of the student. If there is any question about the student’s right to in-state tuition classification, it is the student’s obligation, prior to or at the time of matriculation, to clarify their tuition classification status with the tuition classification officer of the institution.
Correcting Application Errors
Applicants may inquire about the initial evaluation of residency. If the applicant would like to dispute the code of residency, the applicant may contact the Institution’s Tuition Classification Officer. The tuition classification officer may permit an applicant to submit a notarized statement to correct an error in answering a tuition classification question on the application. The notarized statement may be used in these situations in lieu of a completed petition.
Petitioning for In-State Resident Status for Tuition Purposes
The burden to support the contention that he or she qualifies for in-state tuition classification under University System of Georgia policy always rests with the student. Every student classified as out-of-state shall retain that status until officially reclassified as in-state by the proper campus officers. A student classified as out-of-state who can subsequently demonstrate to the satisfaction of the campus tuition classification officer that they meet the requirements for in-state classification can be reclassified as in-state.
A student’s tuition status is not changed automatically. Deadlines set for the submission of the necessary residency documents rest with the Office of Student Affairs and the Residency Verification Committee headed by the Office of Student Affairs. Reclassification will be determined by the process of petition and the decision will rest with the Tuition Classification Officer. Only one petition may be submitted per term.
Current and former military members not meeting the requirements for in-state classification may still be eligible to pay the in-state tuition rate if they are eligible for the Military Personnel Waiver (G), the Georgia National Guard and U.S. Military Reservists Waiver (J) or the Recently Separated Military Personnel Waiver (Q) or any of the other out-of-state tuition waivers. These waivers can also be retained by the military members’ spouses and their dependent children. Military Waivers application should be requested at the time of applying through the Tuition Classification Officer.
- Students domiciled in an out-of-state county bordering Georgia, enrolling in a program offered at a location approved by the Board of Regents, and for which the offering institution has been granted permission to award Border County waivers (BoR Minutes, October 2008); or
- Students domiciled in another state bordering Georgia subject to the following conditions. Each year, the Chancellor shall review the enrollment levels at each USG institution to determine whether any USG institutions have sufficient excess capacity to increase recruitment of students from neighboring states. Should the Chancellor determine that cause exists to activate the Border Residents waiver, the Chancellor or his designee will present the list of institutions to the Academic Affairs Committee of the Board of Regents for approval. If an institution is given permission to award the Border Residents waiver, it will be allowed to do so for the next three academic years. Any students receiving the Border Residents waiver will remain qualified for the waiver, so long as they are continuously enrolled at the institution that awarded the waiver. (BoR Minutes, March 2015)
Awarding Out-of-State Tuition Waivers
U.S. citizens and immigrants, including lawful permanent residents, not eligible to be classified as in-state for tuition purposes may be eligible to pay the in-state tuition rate by means of an out-of-state tuition waiver. In addition, certain eligible non-immigrants may be eligible for specific out-of-state tuition waivers. Undocumented and out-of-status dependent and independent students may not qualify for any of the out-of-state tuition waivers. Dependent students whose parent is undocumented or out-of-status may not qualify for any of the out-of-state tuition waivers. Students interested in obtaining information about differential out-of-state waivers can apply with the Tuition Classification Officer.
Notification of Change in Circumstances
Students who have been determined to be domiciled in Georgia and granted in-state tuition status must immediately notify the proper administrative officials at the institution of any change in residency status or any other change in circumstances which would affect their tuition classification. Students classified as in-state who are found to have been erroneously classified, shall be reclassified as out-of-state and shall be required, if granted by the Institution and Student Affairs, to pay the difference between the in-state and out-of-state fees for the term(s) in which they were erroneously classified. Cancellation of registration and/or judicial review by the institution may also occur.
Students impacted by changes to BOR Policy
Tuition Classification Should a situation arise in which a change to Board of Regents policy results in the policy no longer supporting the in-state classification of a currently enrolled student, the institution may allow the student to maintain his/her in-state classification provided the student remains continuously enrolled. Students not remaining continuously enrolled should be reevaluated for the purpose of determining their tuition classification at the time they reenroll.
Out-of-State Tuition Waivers Should a situation arise in which a change to Board of Regents policy results in the policy no longer supporting the awarding of an out-of-state tuition waiver to a currently enrolled student, the institution may allow the student to continue to receive the waiver provided the student remains continuously enrolled and the student continues to meet the original requirements of the waiver. Students not remaining continuously enrolled should be reevaluated for the purpose of awarding the out-of-state tuition waiver at the time they reenroll.
Student Appeals for Petition of In-State Residency Decisions
The Residency Verification Committee dictates appeals procedures for those students who wish to challenge the initial decision of the campus tuition classification officer. The student may initiate the appeal of a petition decision with the Tuition Classification officer. The appeal must include additional supporting documents and a clear statement as to why the decision should be changed. The appeal will be forwarded to the Residency Verification Committee. After the appeal process, the student will be notified of the decision. The highest level of appeal is the institution’s president. The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia does not hear appeals related to classifications of status for the purpose of paying tuition.