Fort Valley State University receives a portion of its operating funds from state appropriations through the Board of Regents, University System of Georgia. This arrangement enables the University to offer high quality educational programs to its students at a reasonable cost.
Registration for classes is considered complete only after students have paid their tuition and all required mandatory fees. Students are permitted to attend classes once their financial obligations have been met. Fort Valley State University reserves the right to withhold all records (diplomas, transcripts, etc.) and/or revoke enrollment of students who fail to meet financial obligations to the University.
Tuition and fees and may be paid online with an electronic check, VISA, or MasterCard. Cash, a cashier’s check, certified check, or money order is accepted in the Cashier’s Office, Troup Building room 230. Payment can also be mailed and addressed to the following: Fort Valley State University, Attn: Bursar’s Office, 1005 State University Drive, Fort Valley, GA 31030. All checks are payable to Fort Valley State University.
Nine credit hours are required for full time enrollment. Five credit hours is considered part time enrollment for financial aid purposes.
Tuition and Fees
Because Fort Valley State University is a unit of the University System of Georgia, tuition and fee rates are set by the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. The University reserves the right to change its fees/charges at the beginning of any semester. It is the student’s responsibility to know the fees in effect for the semester during which he/she is enrolled. Review fee information online or contact the Bursar’s Office for current rates.
Standard Tuition Rate - This is the per credit hour fee for campus based courses. The rate is different for residents and non-residents of Georgia.
Online Tuition Rate - This is the per-credit hour fee charged for all fully online classes. The rate is the same for residents and non-residents of Georgia
Mandatory Fees - See the tuition and fee schedule for details.
Books - The cost of books varies with each graduate program. Book costs are not included in the cost of tuition.
Auditing Fee - Any regular student may elect an audit grading status enrollment. The fee assessment is the same as for regular enrollment status.
Transcript Fees - Visit https://www.fvsu.edu/transcripts/ to view current transcript rates and submit a request online. Contact the Registrar’s Office with any questions about the transcript request process.
Vehicle Registration - Parking permits are $50.00 per year for each student vehicle, and are required for all motor vehicles operated or parked on any FVSU campus. The registration and purchasing process is completed online. Pick up purchased decals in the Campus Safety Office.
Graduation Application Fee - The graduation application fee for graduate students is $60.00. Pay online after receiving notification from the Registrar’s Office that the graduation application has been approved.
Late Graduation Application Fee - A late fee of $35.00 is charged for graduation applications received after the published initial graduation application deadline.
Post Office Box Rental - A campus post office box can be rented for $22.00 per semester.
Returned Check Penalties - The student will be assessed $30.00 for handling the returned check. This applies to both physical and electronic checks. Registration may be cancelled if the returned check was a payment for tuition and fees.
Regulations of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia provide for tuition and mandatory fee refunds when formal withdrawal from the institution is approved within a designated period following registration.
The refund percentage that a student receives is a calculation of the time remaining in the semester up through 60% of the semester. Once 60% of the semester has expired, there is no refund for a withdrawal from the institution. The refund calculation is based on days enrolled in the semester divided by the number of calendar days in the semester including weekends and holidays, but excluding breaks of five (5) or more consecutive days.
A refund of all semester tuition and other mandatory fees is made in the event of the death of a student at any time during an academic semester. (BR Minutes, 1979-80, p. 61; 1986-87. pp. 24-25; 1995, 6. 246).
Refunds are not issued for a reduction in course load after the first day of class.
View the complete policy here.
A Georgia Resident is a U.S. citizen who has been legally domiciled in the state continuously for a period of not less than 12 months prior to the date of registration. It is expected that the person will maintain continued residence in the state of Georgia even during periods when he/she is not enrolled at the University. Evidence that Georgia is a student’s legal residence may be provided using the following:
- Payment of Georgia income taxes;
- Payment of property (ad valorem) taxes;
- Ownership of home or real estate property;
- Long term military commitment in Georgia;
- Admission to a licensed practicing profession in Georgia.
Changing Resident Status. Students who are not legal residents of Georgia are required to pay non-resident rates (except for fully online classes). If their visas or parents’ states of legal residence change, students may file a petition for changing their residence status. The burden of proof is the student’s responsibility. The Petition for Georgia Residence Classification and supporting documentation must be filed at least one month in advance of the semester in which enrollment with a change in residence status is desired. Failure to meet this deadline does not guarantee that a decision will be made in time for registration. If the residence petition is approved, classification as a legal resident for fee payment purposes will not be retroactive to previous periods of enrollment. The Petition for Georgia Residence Classification can be obtained for the Office of Admissions.